of chapter on Hirschbergen from the book Nueofen Chronik. By Fred
(Ort,Ortschaft, Dorf, place= small country Village.)
also Hirschbergen originated ,thanks to the builder of the Schwemmkanal
(Canal to float wood and trees.)History reached much further back.Early as
1728 Herrschaften,(Earls, Lords)Thought about to establish a settlement
from 15-20 Houses .A report from 8.6.1728,(day is written first in Europe)
stated, that between the great hills (mountains) and forests near Plöckenstein
a part of 15-20 houses could be built.
It could on this place
and in this described
(later a name was used as Jockes,-
Could be cleared as a
settlement for the before described amount of houses .Because of this
forest region local name Hirschberger Valley. Also it stated that nearby
are chairs of stone. (today
Drei sessellberg, drei=3,Sessel= chair, Berg=hill.)where Passauer (city of
Passau and Region) and upper Austrian borders with Bohémia come together,
meet by 4 hrs (to walk there) but from the Plöckenstein only 2 hrs.
But the big Forests
,woods which are not used. To these new
houses after the church in
Salnau 2 hr. foot march, walk. This report also stated that in this
area are big strong Hirsche (similar as a Ren, Ellen, Elk with pointy
antlers),here also lays the point of the start of the name given to the
But: Although Fürst (Earl)Adam
Franz tu Schwarzenberg in the stated report from 6.8.1728 (a
decision-resolution from 16.6.1728 pre-supposition- support was) a
settlement was approved, and although a great amount of willing settlers
especially from the nearby Villages filled applications for the Jager Wald.
.)But to a settlement it did not
come. Probably because of a veto from the forest office.
Seeing the hunt of the
Earls (Lords) Prinzen) in jeopardy for the Hirsche (wildlife). Also I
1755the forest office took a rejecting standpoint as many
peoplefrom(especially Parkfrie and Neuofen filled applications for
approval for a few lots to built houses in the described Hunter forest.
The settlement started
only after Rosenauer (Architect of the Schwemmkanal- float wood and logs
up to 55)had built his canal to furthest point, corner of the lovely
. The start up to float wood, the need to
settle woodcutters. It seems to be in 1793, 6 wood houses were
built,(built around the described ,,Engineer of the Canal Hütte,(
sort of wood, log cottage) in Hirschbergen during the building of the
Canal)6 wood cutters were settled. The slightly built accommodations were
not demolished were upgraded
before the winter time. You could not talk about it ,it was only temporary
The first settlers
contracts are only established, written down from 14.5.1796.The names
wereJohann Graf, Bartl Binder, Michl Schlorhaufer Jun. And Anton
Schinko.Lot, and ground and use, wood and money to built was given before.
In 1799 an additional settlement of 15 houses were added. But they were
opposite from the houses from 1793 which were on the Canal side of the
valley. Their place (new homes) were allocated- given to them in the
Jockes forest on the Hirsch Creek.
1869 Hirschbergen had
its own first school, before that the Hirschberger children had to attend
school in Neuofen.1906 counted the Village 27 houses with 219 Citizens.
1948 it had 38 houses with 260 Citizens. From the former
became a much sought Vacation Place for
the City People. Also much responsible was the nearby tunnel of the
Schwemmkanal.An object of interest for many visitors
who were enticed,
charmed ( by this early architectural masterpiece).
A good Craftsman was
Lorenz Saumer from Waldkirchen ,( nearby Bavaria) which built much of the
first houses in Hirschbergen .For him remember a few Marterls ( little
statues of stone or stucco with his name and date inscribed, one is still
standing when you enter Hirschbergen
at the first house on the right side.)
At the See-Bach-
Valley> lake creek valley <(the Seebach starts at the Plöckensteiner
See (lake) and flows trough the Hirschberger Valley and
flows into the Moldau.)
Poet Johannes Urzidil
spent as its first choice his vacations in Hirschbergen, his narrations,
stories are still alive and live further.
dialect: Hiaschbeagn, under
Czech Rule since 1918. Hirisperk-is wrong.
Jeleni- or Jeleni
Vrychi. The single group of houses- state the names: Johannis Säge (Johannis
Not standing since the
30s,?. Geometer Steig,(Little Pad shortest way from Hirschbergen to
Street houses, Canal