Died: 17-Mar-1694 b Stanton, Wiltshire, England
d Newbury, Essex Co., MA
He "was brought by his uncle, the Rev. Thomas Parker, whose living was at Newbury."
He attended Oxford University and came to New England in 1634, settling in Newbury, MA as a planter. (Farmer, p. 328) He served as town clerk of Newbury from 1634 to 1638.
Minister. He was at first a husbandman or farmer. About 1642, Thomas Dudley, his father-in-law, advised him to become a teacher, or minister, which advice he followed. He was a Deputy to the General Court, 1639-40-41. In 1643 he kept school in Boston; he was ordained over the church in Andover, 24 October 1645. (Mather says 16 September 1644.) (Farmer, p. 328)
He returned with his family to England in 1647, where, among other situations, he became a minister at Andover, Hants. and Barford Saint Martin, Wiltshire, from which place he was ejected at the Restoration. In 1662 he was driven from a school in Newbury, England (?DBR, 1999) by the Bartholomew Act, and in 1663 he returned to New England. He was Assistant of the Massachusetts Bay Colony in 1683-1684.
He became assistant to his uncle Parker, whose sister Sarah his father had married but was dismissed 21 November 1670 because of church dissensions. He died in Newbury, Massachusetts 18 March 1694, aged 84. (BiblioDesiderata, 1871, page 25.)
See NEHG Register 32:292.
The Rev. John Woodbridge, born in England, 1613, studied at Oxford University but left, refusing to take the oath of conformity, in 1634 came to America in the ship Mary and John with his uncle, the Rev. Thomas Parker, settled at Newbury, Mass., town clerk, 1634-38, surveyor of arms, 1637, married in 1639, Mercy, dau. of Gov. Thomas Dudley, ordained minister at Andover, Oct. 24, 1645. In the year 1647 he returned to England with his wife and three children, was chaplain to the parliamentary commissioners who treated with King Charles at the Isle of Wight, minister at Andover, Hampshire, and Barford St. Martin, Wiltshire, until he was ejected at the restoration, in 1663 he returned to America, having resided sixteen years in England, settled at Newbury, where he was assistant minister until he resigned, 1670, assistant of the colony, 1683, died at Newbury, March 17, 1695, his wife having died in 1691; he was the son of Rev. John Woodbridge, d. Dec. 9, 1637, rector of Stanton, near Highworth, Wiltshire, and his wife Sarah, dau. of Mr. Robert Parker, an English divine. (See Woodbridge Record, 1883; Savage's Gen. Dict.; Cotton Mather's Magnalia.)
Cochichawicke, as early as 1634 was settled by Puritans, many of whom came from Rowley, Ipswich and Newbury. Six of its first landowners were Mr. Bradstreet, a minister from Ipswich, John Osgood, John Stevens, William Ballard, John Lovejoy and Thomas Chandler. In 1643, Massachusetts was divided into four counties, Essex county consisted of eight towns or settlements all south of the Merrimack River; Salem, Lynn, Evon (now Wenham), Ipswich, Rowley, Newbury and Cochichawicke.
The Indian town of Cochichawicke was sold by the Indians to Mr. John Woodbridge for £6 and a coat and incorporated as Andover in 1646. Colonists who settled here first allotted land for the church as well as for the minister's house and for a burying ground. Level ground was then set aside for a common where flocks and herds could be pastured and guarded. Then, near the meeting house, home lots of from four to ten acres each were allotted. Proportionate amounts of meadow, tillage and woodlands in more remote areas of the township were awarded depending upon the settler's wealth and position, as this was by no means a complete democracy. Indentured servants, who were numerous, had no share in the communal arrangements. The first buildings were wooden huts with thatched roofs. On May 26, 1647, the General Court appointed John Osgood and Thomas Hale to lay out a road from Andover to Haverhill. Another road went from Andover to Reading.
The first settlers lived in peace with the Indians, showing justice and kindness in their dealings with them. Peaceful relations were maintained with Massasoit and his older son Alexander, permitting the English settlers to pursue their business safely with little interference for more than thirty years. Then Massasoit's younger son, filled with hatred for the English owing to unfortunate experience with them brought on the Indian attack in 1675 which made garrison houses necessary for refuge and defence. These houses were built of heavy timber, at times filled with bricks between the studs. At the corners logs were halved and lapped together, then treenailed with long wooden pins. A second story sometimes extended out over the lower, and the whole was surrounded with a palisade, a watch being kept night and day. The first violence in Andover came April 19, 1676. A second Indian war on the English came in 1688, with Andover suffering more this time. Lieutenant John Stevens, Benjamin Lovejoy and others died in battle. The worst Indian attack on Andover occurred March 5, 1698, when 30 to 40 Indians killed five settlers, burned two houses and two barns. Until 1725, settlers were harassed constantly, their crops destroyed and cattle driven off. During this period, there was a garrison house in every neighborhood in different sections of town, and men went armed into the fields to work. There was bittarness and hatred, and certainly injustice and cruelty, as in any war in history, the antagonists, both red and white, struggling for supremacy in a primitive wilderness. (A Genealogical History of the Clark and Worth Families, pp. 371-372)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Title: Genealogical Register of the First Settlers of New England
Author: John Farmer
Publication: Reprint Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Baltimore. 1998
Page: p. 328
Brøderbund WFT Vol. 2, Ed. 1, Tree #4915, Date of Import: 3 Dec 1996
Title: The Great Migration Begins, Immigrants to New England 1620-1633
Author: Robert Charles Anderson
Publication: Great Migration Study Project New England Historic Genealogical Society Boston 1995
Page: p. 585
Ordination: 24 Oct 1645 Andover, Essex Co., MA
Comments: Immigration: 1634 On the Mary & John, departing Southampton 24 March 1634
Spouse: Mercy Dudley (Married)
Children: John Woodbridge
Parents: John Woodbridge, Sarah Parker